5 Things I’ve Learned from Running

Since starting running in April 2016, I’ve learned a lot about myself and about running too.

Andy Cooper
I’m sure you remember why I began running in April that, it was grief – the devastating loss of a loveable character, a fabulous family man (photo: Andy Cooper) and motivated with his training ethos for The JCBMudRun, I began to run, albeit slowly and with the aim of #GettingDirtyForAndy .

 

 

  1.  Time Out
    I learned that time out to refocus made me a better person.  I was more patient, organised and happy (which creates a snowball effect).
  2. Confidence Increase
    After having my confidence knocked out of me quite sometime back, I slowly and steadily started to regain some of my former self (always a work in progress).
  3. Achieve
    I had this realisation that I could do much more than I thought with determination firmly in my corner, like completing (without injury) two trail marathons within a 4 month window and from doing no consistent running until April 2016!

    Manchester Half Marathon
    My First Half Marathon – pictured with my team mates from Trentham Running Club
  4. Live outside of my comfort zone
    I don’t mean go and live somewhere else, I’ve got children, a husband and 2 cats to care for.  By this I mean I considered joining a running club and turned up without previous conversation and went for a few runs with them @TrenthamRC before officially joining in September 2016
  5.  Needed some support to reach higher
    I quickly learned they’re an encouraging group of like-minded, slightly crazy (in a great way), individuals with a strong team ethos.  They encouraged me to run my first Half Marathon in October 16, within 10 months of being with Trentham Running Club.  I’ve ran two Half Marathons and two trail marathons – which were never part of my plan.

What I’d love to be able to do is inspire people to run, there are so many reasons why a person chooses to run and I’m sure if you’re reading this, you either love running or, are considering it?

Whatever you choose try to #ActivelyBeYou

Fi x